2018 NHL Award Winners

Updated: June 21, 2018 at 10:14 am by Brock Seguin

The Annual NHL Awards were held at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas last night and there were a bunch of first-time winners. 

Below I’ve listed all of the award winners and the vote totals for that award. Comment below if you agree or disagree with last night’s winners. 

Hart Memorial Trophy

Winner: Taylor Hall (NJD)

Hall won his first ever Hart Memorial Trophy, given to the player judged most valuable to his team.

In his second year with the New Jersey Devils, Hall led them on an unexpected run to the playoffs. Hall was sixth in the NHL in points (93), tied for ninth in goals (39), tied for 10th in shots on goal (278), tied for 11th in game-winning goals (7) and 19th in assists (54).

Vezina Trophy

Winner: Pekka Rinne (NSH)

Rinne won his first Vezina Trophy, given to the NHL’s top goaltender, after 10-full seasons and 567 career games. 

Rinne finished the season tied for first in the NHL in shutouts (8), third in wins (42), fifth in GAA (2.31) and tied for sixth in SV% (.927).

Norris Trophy

Winner: Victor Hedman (TBL)

Hedman won his first Norris Trophy, given to the NHL’s top defenseman, after nine seasons. 

Hedman was tied for first among defensemen in goals (17), second in plus/minus (32)…if you care…fifth in points (63) and time one ice/game (25:51) and tied for ninth in assists (46).

Calder Trophy

Winner: Mathew Barzal (NYI)

Barzal becomes the fifth player in New York Islanders history to win the Calder Trophy (first since 1997), given to the NHL’s best rookie. 

Barzal appeared in all 82 games and finished the season and led all rookies in assists (63), points (85), tied for fifth in game-winning goals (4) and sixth in goals (22). 

Jack Adams Award

Winner: Gerard Gallant (VGK)

In the least surprising news of the night…Gallant won the Jack Adams Award, given to the Coach of the Year.

Gallant essentially wrapped up the award in December. He coached the expansion Vegas Golden Knights to the fifth best record in the NHL (51-24-7), winning the Pacific Division and then taking them to the Stanley Cup Finals. This was Gallant’s first Jack Adams win. 

Frank J. Selke Trophy

Winner: Anze Kopitar (LAK)

Kopitar won his second Selke Trophy in three years, given to the NHL forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game. 

Over the last five seasons, only Patrice Bergeron (2014, 2015 & 2017) and Kopitar (2016 & 2018) have won the Selke Trophy. 

Kopitar joins Bob Gainey (4), Bergeron (4), Guy Carbonneau (3), Jere Lehtinen (3), Pavel Datsyuk (3), Sergei Fedorov (2), Michael Peca (2) and Rod Brind’Amour (2) as the only multiple time winners.  

Ted Lindsay Award

Winner: Connor McDavid

McDavid took home his second straight Ted Lindsay Award, which is awarded to the NHL’s most outstanding player in the regular season as judged by the members of the NHLPA. 

McDavid led the NHL in points (108) for the second straight year, finishing sixth in goals (41) and third in assists (67). 

Lady Byng Trophy

Winner: William Karlsson

Karlsson won his first Lady Byng Trophy, given to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. 

Karlsson, who had a simply outstanding year with the Golden Knights, got some hardware on Wednesday. Karlsson had just 12 penalty minutes in 82 games this season. 

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Winner: Brian Boyle

The Bill Masterton Trophy is given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Boyle was diagnosed with chronic myeloid leukaemia during training camp, but came back to score 13 goals with 10 assists (23 points) in 69 games and represented the Devils in the NHL All-Star Game. 

King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Winner(s): Daniel & Henrik Sedin

The King Clancy Trophy is awarded to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community. 

While Henrik Sedin was given the award in 2016, the Sedin Twins became the first players to share the award in their final season. The Sedin’s wrap-up a fantastic 16-year career. 

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Winner: Deryk Engelland (VGK) 

The Mark Messier Leadership Award recognizes an individual as a superior leader within their sport and as a contributing member of society. 

Engelland, who was able to play at home when he was selected by Vegas in the expansion draft, was a key member in the Golden Knights’ efforts following the mass shooting in Vegas on October 1st, among other community contributions. 

General Manager of the Year

Winner: George McPhee

This was as unsurprising as Gallant winning the Jack Adams. McPhee was a finalist for this award in 2010, but took home the award last night after assembling the best expansion team in sports history. 

Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award

Winner: Darcy Haugan (Humboldt Broncos)

Humboldt Broncos coach Darcy Haugan won the first-ever Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award, which recognizes the the commitment of those improving lives and strengthening communities through hockey.

Haugan was one of 16 people killed in the Humboldt bus tragedy. Survivors from the crash took the stage with Darcy’s wife Christina, who accepted the award for Darcy. 

If you didn’t get a chance to watch last night, take 15 minutes to watch the Humboldt Broncos’ story and see them take the stage. 

The following two tabs change content below.

Brock Seguin

Brock has been the Editor-In-Chief of DailyFaceoff.com since the start of the 2012-13 season, the Host of the DFO Podcast since 2015 and Editor-In-Chief of DailyDugout since the 2017 season.

Latest posts by Brock Seguin (see all)

Bookmark and Share