Nightly Scrap: Leafs snap losing streak in dramatic fashion

Updated: November 17, 2010 at 10:59 am by Alexander Monaghan

The Toronto Maple Leafs broke an eight game losing streak in dramatic fashion last night, defeating the Nashville Predators 5-4 on the strength of four second period powerplay goals (see new lines here).  While Luke Schenn kept the team in the game when down 3-0 with a first period marker it was Kris Versteeg, Mikael Grabovsky and Nikolai Kulemin who ultimately sealed the game with the man advantage.  Clarke MacArthur also added three assists while Tomas Kaberle and Phil Kessel each finished with two of their own.

Jonas Gustavsson relieved a sore Jean-Sebastien Giguere, turning aside all six shots en route to his second win of the year.

In Montreal, the Canadiens exacted their revenge on the Philadelphia Flyers with a 3-0 win.  Carey Price stood tall against the powerful Philly offense, stopping all 41 shots and the Canadien defense survived without Andrei Markov.  The Habs top line of Tomas Plekanec, Brian Gionta and Michael Cammalleri combined for six points including all three goals in the game. By contrast rookie Sergei Bobrovsky lost his first game since November 7th.

Finally we travel to Dallas where the struggling Stars managed to sneak out a win against the Anaheim Ducks, beating them 2-1. Brad Richards scored the game winning goal in the third period and assisted on a Steve Ott tally earlier in the contest which was just enough to beat Jonas Hiller.  Corey Perry scored the lone goal for the Ducks, who have now  lost two straight.

That just about wraps up a very light night of hockey.  Be sure to check us all day as we bring you the most relevant fantasy hockey news possible.  You can follow us on twitter @dailyfaceoff as we continue to bring you information on starting goalies, team lineups and major injury updates as well as provide in-depth injury updates and player rankings in the future.

Andrei Markov, Brad Richards, Brian Gionta, Carey Price, Clarke MacArthur, Corey Perry, Jean-Sebastien Giguere, Jonas Gustavsson, Jonas Hiller, kris versteeg, Luke Schenn, Michael Cammalleri, Mikael Grabovsky, Nikolai Kulemin, Phil Kessel, Sergei Bobrovsky, Steve Ott, Tomas Kaberle, Tomas Plekanec